We are trying to establish archives for each of the houses at Worksop. Thus far, Talbot is the only house represented (this is of course in no way connected to the allegiance of the website creator!) The Talbot archive can be viewed here.
Talbot House can trace it’s routes back to the Crown Dormitory which was founded in 1897. An additional Dorm was founded due to increasing pupil numbers at Worksop. Prior to this time three dorms had existed, these being Cross (later Mason), Fleur de Leys (later Pelham) and Lion (later Mountgarret).
In the 1920s, Dorms became Houses and Crown Dorm became Talbot House, named after Rev Arthur Talbot, Provost 1896-1927. The Crown remains the Talbot emblem to this day and yellow and maroon the House colours.
Talbot has occupied multiple homes over the years and in 1966 moved away from the original Crown Dorm into purpose-built accommodation in what is now School House (or Gibbs if you were at Worksop between 1986-2006). Talbot stayed there for 20 years and moved back to the main buildings in 1986, into the former School House buildings which became vacant when Scholae originally closed.
Talbot can boast two Olympians (the brothers Buckner) who between them competed in the 1988 and 1992 Olympics on the track (to date the only Olympians the College has produced). The cricketer Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire and England) was also a Talbotian and famously won Talbot the house cricket trophy in 2001 after getting caught for a duck!